First of all, you don’t need to do much about your Kauai marriage license
if you have a good wedding coordinator. However since people ask me questions about their Kauai marriage license on the phone all the time, I have compiled a list of all of the information you’ll need to know about getting your marriage license anywhere in Hawaii no matter which island or which location.
The main website you need to fill out and pay for the marriage license at: https://marriage.ehawaii.gov
In a nutshell you will go online and fill out the form and pay in advance so that when you arrive for your Kauai marriage license appointment you will already be nearly done.
Any good wedding coordinator will plan your marriage license appointment for you. We at Aloha Ever After do it at no extra charge. Just tell your wedding coordinator when and where you would like to have your wedding license or civil union license (we call them both wedding licenses) appointment and they will contact the state agent for you.
You must get the marriage license in person in the state of Hawaii. You do not have to get the marriage license on the same island you will get married on, so for example if you prefer to get the marriage license while on Oahu before coming to Kauai, that is fine.
You must use the marriage license within 30 days of getting it … but you can get it as late as the day of the wedding … easy!
The Kauai marriage license appointment only takes about 10 minutes. People often make going to the appointment a bigger deal than it really is. You can have a full day of sightseeing or even get married on the day of the appointment! By the time you arrive you have already paid and filled out an online application, and all you are doing is showing them your IDs and paying a $5 agent processing fee.
The Kauai marriage license appointment is between you and the state of Hawaii, so no one can do it for you … kind of like when you go to get your driving license appointment from your own state. Your wedding coordinator is setting up the appointment for you, giving you easy-to-follow instructions … but you must always pay for the license yourself (never to your wedding coordinator!) because again, this is ultimately a contract between you and the state of Hawaii.
The wedding coordinator will not be present at the appointment.
Here’s a list of what you need to bring with you to the appointment:
- Code you received when you submitted application;
- Both of you, in person (no proxies are allowed);
- Valid ID for both of you;
- $65 (license fee to state) paid online ahead of time or in person (cash only in person);
- $5 (admin fee paid to the marriage license agent) cash only in person.
So that is a total of $70 which you can pay all at once in person, or pay $65 online and $5 in person – it’s your choice.
If you were previously married and that marriage ended within the last 6 months, please bring your legal paperwork with you to the appointment.